Anderson County



MARK STAPLES County Clerk Telephone: (903) 723-7432

500 North Church Street Rm 10 Palestine, Texas 75801

PALESTINE, TEXAS 75801

ANDERSON COUNTY RECORDING FEES AND POLICIES EFFECTIVE April 1, 2019

- 1. \$26.00 for the first page and \$4.00 for each page thereafter. Any document submitted for recording must be the original. No photocopies will be accepted.
- 2. Anything on the back of any of the pages also constitutes a page and will be subject to the same \$4.00 fee as all others, as they by state law <u>must be recorded</u> per Texas Local Government Code: 118.011 item (1). If you do not wish for what is on the back of any page to be recorded, you must white it out <u>before</u> it is sent in for filing.
- 3. Documents must be properly signed, acknowledged and include a notary seal, according to the Texas Local Government Code 405.019, with the proper filing fee paid prior to being recorded. Fee is to be paid at the time service is rendered.
- 4. Death Certificates and Letters Testamentary are not recordable in the Official Public Records. Death Certificates by law are sealed records until 25 years after the date of death.
- 5. A legal paper presented to a County Clerk for filing or for recording must BE PRINTED IN TYPE NOT SMALLER THAN EIGHT POINT TYPE and be suitable otherwise for reproducing from it a record by a photocopy or photostatic from or microphotographic process used in the office of the County Clerk.
- 6. The first 5 names with grantors and grantees combined are included in the initial filing fees. If the number of combined names, including all variations of names (both individual and business names) listed on the document exceeds 5, according to the Texas Local Government Code118.011 Item (2), an additional \$0.25cents will be charged for each name in excess of 5. Please include this with your filing fee to prevent unnecessary delays in recording or the return of your unfiled document.
- 7. The address the document is to be returned to after recording <u>must be visible</u> on the front of any one of the pages on each instrument.

Anderson County



MARK STAPLES County Clerk Telephone: (903) 723-7432

500 North Church Street Rm 10 Palestine, Texas 75801

PALESTINE, TEXAS 75801

- 8. Social Security numbers or driver license are not required on the document according to Property Code 11.008 (f) (1).
- 9. Any deed conveying an interest in real property, executed after December 31, 1981, shall contain a mailing address of each GRANTEE appearing on the document (or separate instrument signed by Grantor or Grantee and attached to the Document). If the address is missing, such document may only be recorded after a penalty fee of the greater of (1) twice the usual filing fee or (2) \$25.00 per Property Code 11.003.
- 10. The signature line on each document must have the printed name below the signature per Texas Local Government Code 191.007 (b) (3)
- 11. All documents for recording in real property must have a proper title, according to Property Code 11.008 (b).

NOTE: THIS SCHEDULE IS AN OVERVIEW AND MAY NOT LIST ALL THE CHARGES YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR. PLEASE REFER TO ANDERSON COUNTY CLERK'S OFFICIAL PUBLIC RECORDS FEE SCHEDULE FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION.